Skip To Content

About Dewdney Elementary School

Dewdney is one of the oldest schools in Mission, with the original section of the school being built in 1924. We have a long tradition, with third and fourth generation students walking through our halls!

Our CORE (Community Outdoor Recreation & Environment Education) program attracts many families to Dewdney. We belong to Actions School BC and the Fruit & Vegetable Program. We host regular events and fundraisers to support special programs each year.

We have a very dedicated and student-centered staff. They involve themselves in promoting high academic achievement and global citizenship.

We include preschool and primary students to help encourage the love of reading through Books for Bedtime, and the Ready, Set, Learn program.

We are grateful to community groups for their support, including North Fraser Fire Department and Sasquatch Lions Club, who have helped provide funds for equipment and activities.

For more information, please read the Dewdney Elementary 2015/2016 School Growth Plan (PDF).

apple girls

 

Contact Us:

Dewdney Elementary
37151 Hawkins Pickle Road - Box 107
Dewdney, BC, Canada
V0M 1H0

Tel: 604-826-2516
Fax: 604-820-8063

Principal
Susan McLeod

Secretary
Carolyn Wilding-Eddy

Office Hours
M-F 8:00 am - 2:45 pm

Unscheduled School Closures
> latest info (**NEW** When you've clicked on the link, be sure to sign up to receive an email when the school is closed!!)

Bussing
Please contact the Bus Garage at 604-826-2377 if the after school bus has not dropped off your child at scheduled time. Information relating to unexpected bussing interruptions will be provided.

FEBRUARY
Tuesday, Feb 2 - Hot lunch forms due today
Tuesday, Feb 2 - PAC meeting, 9:00am
Thursday, Feb 4 - Volleyball game at Hatzic, 2:30pm
Friday, Feb 5 - Hot lunch, quesadillas
Monday, Feb 8 - Family Day, school not in session
Thursday, Feb 11 - Spirit Day & Sundaes (wear pink, white or red)
Thursday, Feb 11 - Volleyball game at ESR, 2:30pm
Friday, Feb 12 - Hot lunch, pizza
Friday, Feb 12 - Jump Rope for Heart 12:30-2:00pm
Friday, Feb 12 - Movie Night, 5:30-9:30pm
Tuesday, Feb 16 - School Board Meeting 6;30pm, Cherry Hill School
Wednesday, Feb 17 - Cultural Day
Thursday, Feb 18 - Grade 6 hot lunch fundraiser
Thursday, Feb 18 - Volleyball game at Hatzic, 2:30pm
Friday, Feb 19 - District Pro-D Day, school not in session
Monday, Feb 22 - District Curriculum Pro-D Day, school not in session
Thursday, Feb 25 - Volleyball Playoffs at Ecole Christine Morrison
Friday, Feb 26 - Books for Breakfast 8:30-9:30am
Friday, Feb 26 - 1/2 day Assessment, students dismissed at 11:00am

MARCH
Friday, Mar 11 - Parent/Teacher conferences, school not in session
Monday, Mar 14 - Thursday, Mar 24 - SPRING BREAK
Friday Mar 25 - Good Friday, school not in session
Monday Mar 28 - Easter Monday, school not in session
Tuesday Mar 29 - School re-opens after Spring/Easter Break

 

APRIL

 

MAY
Monday, May 2 - District Curriculum Pro-D Day, school not in session
Friday, May 20 - Non-Instructional Day, school not in session
Monday, May 23 - Victoria Day, school not in session

JUNE
Wednesday, June 29 - LAST DAY OF SCHOOL BEFORE SUMMER BREAK